Removing Windows Anytime Upgrade from the hard drive or saving it to a DVD - 3000 Desktop, Notebook / ThinkCentre / ThinkPad
Symptom

User may want to gain back approximately 3GB in hard drive space by removing the Windows Anytime Upgrade. Windows Anytime Upgrade software may be preloaded on any Microsoft Vista preload system except for Vista Ultimate. Proceed with caution before restoring the hard drive space.

Affected configuration

All 3000 Desktops, Notebooks, ThinkCentre, and ThinkPad systems running Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic, Vista Home Premium, and Vista Business, configured with the Windows Anytime Upgrade(WAU) package.

Solution

Copy WAU Bits to a DVD before deleting them from the hard drive just in case you want to upgrade later.

  1. Open a Command Prompt with Administrative Privileges:
    Click All programs then click Accessories, then right click on Command Prompt and Run as Administrator.
    Click on Continue message on the dialogue box with "Windows Need your permission to continue"
  2. Change directory to the root of C Drive by typing CD \ from the "C:\>" prompt.
  3. At the CMD prompt type attrib -r WAUUPGRD
  4. Right click on Start then click Explorer. This will open the Explorer window.
  5. Click at the Root of C - Drive
  6. Right click on WAUUPGRD then click Send to then click DVD ROM drive. This will open the DVD ROM drive, insert a blank DVD.
  7. Next Screen enter name for WAU DVD and click continue. This will start copying WAUUPGRD directory on DVD.
  8. To use this DVD to perform WAU upgrade, run setup from the DVD. It is in WAUUPGRD directory

How to uninstall and delete WAU Bits from Preload.

  1. Open a Command Prompt with Administrative Privileges:
    Click All programs then click Accessories, then right click on Command Prompt and Run as Administrator.
    Click on Continue message on the dialogue box with "Windows Need your permission to continue"
  2. Change directory to the root of C Drive by typing CD \ from the "C:\>" prompt.
  3. At the CMD prompt type attrib -r WAUUPGRD
  4. Type RD /S /Q WAUUPGRD
    Warning: Make sure you type it in exactly as shown above. The RD command with the /S option will delete all directories and subdirectories contained within the directory specified. The /Q command turns off the prompt asking if you are sure you want to do this. Once you run this command, you can not undo it.
  5. This will remove Windows Anytime Upgrade from the preload.


If you are unable to find what you are looking for, please do try the following options:
1. Lenovo Assisted Search
2. Product usage and general troubleshooting tips
3. Lenovo Support Forum
4. Technical Support Call Centre

País de disponibilidad
DisponibleWorldwide
Documento de identidad : HT003756
Legacy Document ID : SF07-D0069
Última actualización :
© 2013 Lenovo. Todos los derechos reservados.
   
Seleccione Tarea
 
Controladores Y Software  
Guías Y Manuales  
Diagnosticar Y Reparar  
Garantía Y Servicios  
Partes  
Accesorios  

RECURSOS ADICIONALES
Driver Matrix
COMUNIDAD
Artículos destacados de Knowledge Base
Centro de Respuestas de la Comunidad de Lenovo
Foros Comunidad de Lenovo
Lenovo Assisted Search