IBM Rescue and Recovery™ with Rapid Restore™ - Backup located on a network share is overwritten
Symptom The IBM Rapid Restore Ultra network backup feature uses a Microsoft network share to store its backups. If another computer uses the same network share, it will overwrite whatever backup is there.
Affected configuration IBM systems supported by IBM Rescue and Recovery with Rapid Restore, running Microsoft Windows 2000 or XP, configured with IBM Rapid Restore Ultra
Solution The network backup option of Rapid Restore Ultra requires a network share be established prior to a backup operation. Two computers cannot be assigned the same shared folder, otherwise each backup would overwrite the other computer's backup. This can be managed several ways:
Using a single network share, create multiple folders, where each user uses the same user id with a unique folder for their backup destination
Create multiple network shares, with a unique user id per share (so folders are unique)